Dwarf planets




In 2006 the International Astronomical Union (IAU) approved a new classification scheme for planets and smaller objects in our Solar System. Their scheme includes three classes of objects. First is the small solar system bodies which includes most asteroids and comets. The second one is the much larger planets which includes Earth, Jupiter, Mars and other larger planets; and the newly introduced category of in-between sized planets are dwarf planets which includes Pluto, Eris, Makemake, Haumea and Ceres. Dwarf Planets have weaker gravities what is more they are unable to clear their orbits.

In: Paragraphs Asked By: [6 Grey Star Level]
Review #1


Answers Reviewed By: Pacans [1046 Orange Star Level]

Review this Essay

You must be Logged In to post an Review.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Posting and Reviewing Essays!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]